Forest Therapy: Heart Lake Hike

I was wondering why I was so exhausted last week. I realized that since February, I have not been home for more than a week. That’s been just enough time to recover from teaching or taking a class, preparing for the next class, reorganizing my camping gear, doing laundry, and repacking the truck for the next trip. I taught 8 wilderness medicine classes and took 4 medical classes to keep my paramedic current. As spring wore on life was unraveling as I tried to keep plans straight despite changing conditions.

It was time for a little forest therapy. The trail to Heart Lake did not disappoint. It feels like there is a “super bloom” everywhere this year. Flowers lined the trail and ponds were filled in spots found dry last summer. And, to top it off, there is an epic view of Mount Shasta to fill you with awe.

Then an entire day spent sleeping helped the recovery.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Comments

2 responses to “Forest Therapy: Heart Lake Hike”

  1. Mary Ann Robbert Avatar
    Mary Ann Robbert

    Looks like great therapy. Dogs seem to enjoy it also. I miss the green.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But you wouldn’t miss the cold (although it is such a nice change).

      Like

Leave a comment