The Rule of Thirds

This weeks entry in Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge Week #9 “Rule of Thirds”.

I agree with Cee, the rule of thirds is how our brain naturally works.  What can’t be explained in words is often obvious to the subconscious.

What I find interesting is how, in some pictures, the focal point in the top or side 1/3 of the frame can show stability …..

and others infer movement.

I know that this photo has too many distractors but my focus was in the 1/3 corridor.dsc_0589

 

13 thoughts on “The Rule of Thirds”

  1. I like the lighthouse photo…such interesting detail. I’d love to live out there. My favorite is the Long Boat Captain…the rocks, the setting sun, and the silhouette of the Captain himself….it just shows his contentment there in his boat and surroundings. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, I love the Long Boat Captain too. My cousin and I were lucky to find the lighthouse in the sun. Like any lighthouse, it’s in the most inhospitable location at the tip of Point Reyes. I would not want to move there but… right down the road is my favorite farm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

