Why?

How can I write a blog about traveling?

We cancelled our trip to England next month.  I haven’t left the house for the last 3 months for anything but my job and parts for our kitchen remodel.  The car needs tires and an oil change, the truck needs a brake light replaced, I haven’t ridden the mountain bike I bought six months ago, the kayak has a hole that needs repair; surely there must be better use of my time.

But I can’t stop thinking about writing.  In fact, I have been thinking about it for years but haven’t done anything.  On my 100 mile commute, I have such grand ideas mulled over and refined to perfection by the time I reach home.  Thoughts never committed to paper; lost in the shuffle of everyday life.

I decided that it was time to stop thinking and start doing.  My drive to work is longer than most people drive in a week.  I just returned from a two-week assignment that took us all over northern California.  We have plenty of other trips planned.  And, the kitchen remodel can’t last forever!

4 thoughts on “Why?”

Leave a Reply

