2/4/2016: Snowshoeing El Dorado National Forest

I was hoping to find a high point that overlooked Lake Tahoe but was limited on time.  When I didn’t see the trail to Echo Lakes (hidden on the other side of the snow drift from where I parked), I took Ridge Loop trail.  There was at least an inch of fresh powder so, while the trail was obvious from previous activity, I was the first person on the new snow.      The trail was relatively flat and an easy walk.  A good workout to get the kinks out after skiing and before a long drive home.

DSC_0006
Ridge Loop Trail
DSC_0014
The night brought fresh snow

I can’t say that I was the first one on the new snow because there were footprints everywhere.  From mice to bobcat, the fresh snow provided evidence of the early morning activity.

DSC_0011
Mine were not the only footprints

Echo Lakes Winter Guide

2 thoughts on “2/4/2016: Snowshoeing El Dorado National Forest”

Leave a Reply

