3/10/2016: Photo Safari in Tulare County

I took my first photography class a couple of years ago and have wanted to take an outdoor class ever since.  There wasn’t a lot of teaching this time but I learned an incredible amount.

First, have your camera ready at all times.  Nothing was set up as we came across a bobcat sunning on a rock by the creek in the first couple of minutes of the drive.  I scrambled to turn the camera on, take the cap off, get the settings right and focus before the cat moved.

DSC_0012
Bobcat (Lynx rufus)

 

Second, patience and perseverance might be a requirement of wildlife photography, but luck is even better.  We saw 3 Northern Pygmy Owls through the course of the day but only the first one came close enough to get good photos.

What do they say?  It takes 10,000 hours to master a skill?  I have a long way to go but spending an entire day taking photos was interesting.  Learning to move through the menus, adjust settings and recognize the changes necessary to get the photo that I wanted were all discovered after hours in the field.  I was much more comfortable with my camera by the end and looking forward to get out again.

 

8 thoughts on “3/10/2016: Photo Safari in Tulare County”

    1. Thanks but I wish they posed. I didn’t post the photos of the hawk in flight….with half the hawk in the frame, with the post in front of the hawk, with the tail feathers flying through the trees. One of the most valuable lessons was “take a lot of pictures and something will turn out.” I already have another class in mind…photos to follow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

