1/21/2016: Skiing in Yosemite

Skiing in Yellowstone National Park has always been on the Bucket List.  But that is big trip.  There’s no excuse why I couldn’t go to Yosemite.  I threw the cross country skis and snow shoes in the car and enough equipment to hedge my bets and went to work.  I had no real plan.  And, the little that I had almost fell apart.  But I made it to El Portal at 8 am.  I had no intention of going to the Yosemite Valley but the deli was closed in El Portal and I needed food and water.  Although unintended, it was fortuitous.  I got there just as the sun was hitting the Yosemite Valley.  I spent a lot more time there than I intended but it was an opportunity to photograph the valley that I could not pass up.

Finally, at noon, I made it up to Badger Pass ski area.  Whatever I thought I had about getting back to nature should have been taken in context of Yosemite scale.  Back to nature with a 1000 of your closest friends.  It wasn’t bad but I was caught off guard.  I realized that I should not have been because they all had the same intentions as me.  When I reached Dewey Point, I saw why everyone was there.  I had never seen Yosemite Valley from above and to see El Capitan dwarfed and Half Dome almost indistinguishable was awe inspiring.  It was a successful day: I stayed upright on my skis as much as possible, I got a workout in, I finally relaxed a bit, and I experienced something that I had never seen before.  It was a good day.

4 thoughts on “1/21/2016: Skiing in Yosemite”

  1. The photo of El Capitan and the Merced River with snow on the rocks and steam over the snow is my favorite. It is a really beautiful photo Peter. Wait no, the photo of the Valley with cloud streaks in the sky is my favorite. I can’t make up my mind.

    It looks like a great day! It doesn’t get much better than that. Thanks for sharing the photos so quickly. I’ll bet you can’t wait to get back and do that again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like them. It was my resolution to not wait a year before posting a trip to the blog. I’ve had one success to build on. I have some trips in mind but wish they allowed dogs in the backcountry.

      Like

Leave a Reply

