Sun Salutations

Sunrise over Haleakala (Maui, Hawaii, USA)
Sunrise over Haleakala (Maui, Hawaii, USA)

Originally, it all started when I was training for triathlons.  I realized that all the races were in the morning and thought I should learn to get up early and get a run or ride in before work.

Then it turned into an obsession.

Pactola Reservoir (The Black Hills, South Dakota, USA)
Pactola Reservoir (The Black Hills, South Dakota, USA)

If I did not have 10 things done before sunrise, I felt like I had wasted the day.

Ranger at Payne Lake (Talladega NF, Alabama, USA)
Ranger at Payne Lake (Talladega NF, Alabama, USA)

As I mellowed with age, I find that watching the sunrise is a nice start to the day.  A brief pause to see the first light shine over the horizon; listening for the different bird calls as they come to life; looking behind me to see how the light is reflected off the leaves and water.

Watching boat traffic on the Mississippi River (Great River Bluffs SP, Minnesota, USA)
Watching boat traffic on the Mississippi River (Great River Bluffs SP, Minnesota, USA)

Sometimes it’s the excuse I need to get outside for an early morning hike or a walk on the beach.  On vacation, watching the sunrise is a moment of relaxation and contemplation.  At home, when more is breaking than getting done and the projects are piling up, at least I accomplished something; I saw the day begin.

Mercury Bay (Whitianga, New Zealand)
Mercury Bay (Whitianga, New Zealand)
Mount Shasta and Black Butte (Weed, California, USA)
Mount Shasta and Black Butte (Weed, California, USA)

3 thoughts on “Sun Salutations”

Leave a Reply

