1/9/2016: Hiking the Seven Sisters

There is a series of volcanic peaks called the Seven Sisters that run inland from the edge of the Pacific Ocean in Morro Bay, California to San Luis Obispo, California.  Since there are 9 peaks, I am not sure where the name came from.  Like many people, I would love to climb them all but since some are on private property, I figured that I would start with the ones that are accessible.

  1. Morro Rock 576 feet (176 m)
  2. Black Hill 665 feet (203 m)
  3. Cerro Cabrillo 911 feet (278 m)
  4. Hollister Peak 1,404 feet (428 m)
  5. Cerro Romauldo 1,306 feet (398 m)
  6. Chumash Peak 1,257 feet (383 m)
  7. Bishop Peak 1,559 feet (475 m)
  8. Cerro San Luis 1,292 feet (394 m)
  9. Islay Hill 775 feet (236 m)

It’s been 10 years since I hiked up Cerro Cabrillo and I have never been to the top of Black Hill despite camping below it many times.  It was a cloudy day with light sprinkles so the photographs were a little fuzzy.  But it is amazing how a walk in the rain can bring clarity to your mind.

2 thoughts on “1/9/2016: Hiking the Seven Sisters”

  1. I agree with your sentiment about walking in the rain. It makes me feel cozy and happy as long as I am doing something fun. Not so much when I am on my way to work. It rained a lot in Ireland and I loved every minute of it. “Soft day” they call it.

    Like

  2. I have never heard of a “soft day;” I will have to remember that. Rain on the way to work is never fun; it just starts the day off wrong. I still have a lot of that old east coast attitude of “when the sun is out, get outside, and when the sun is in, read a book or do indoor chores. It doesn’t translate very well to California

    Like

Leave a Reply

