5/25/2016: Mountain Biking Santa Margarita Lake

One of the reasons that I love cycling is that you quietly ride up on wildlife before they ever have a chance to react.  I remember the first time I came upon a bobcat.  I came around a corner and a small dog was standing 15′ away, staring at me.  Like a checklist in my mind, I thought, it has pointed ears, a short tail, a cat shaped nose…”Hey, thats a bobcat.”

Now, getting the camera out of the backpack is a different story.

Luckily, today, I came around the corner on a couple of turkey hens who just stood there.  I got my camera out of the backpack and watched as their brood slowly emerged from the undergrowth and crossed the trail, slowly moving off into the chaparral. DSC_0041DSC_0067DSC_0068DSC_0076DSC_0080DSC_0082DSC_0096

4 thoughts on “5/25/2016: Mountain Biking Santa Margarita Lake”

    1. After a while something more threatening than me caught their attention coming from the other direction. I was hoping for more photos but it never showed from it’s chaparral hideout.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

